Scientific direction Development of key enabling technologies
Transfer of knowledge to industry

PhD : selection by topics

See all positions [+]

Optimization of dielectric/GaN interface for MIS gate power devices

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Electroniques pour l'Energie

01-09-2020

SL-DRT-20-0432

laura.vauche@cea.fr

Emerging materials and processes for nanotechnologies and microelectronics (.pdf)

To definitively penetrate into the power electronics market, one of the main challenges for GaN remains the development of a reliable normally-off HEMT solution. In the case of GaN-based MIS channel-High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), the dielectric/GaN interface properties are critical. The goal of the thesis is to optimize the dielectric/GaN interface for MIS gate power devices. For this, 1. The dielectric/GaN interface properties will be evaluated by XPS (X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy). This technique allows to study the oxidation degree at GaN surface. Additional analyses by ToF-SIMS (Time of Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry) and HRTEM (High Resolution Transmission Electron Microscopy) will be carried out in order to characterize the materials chemical composition and crystalline structure. 2. GaN-based devices quality will be studied by transistor and capacitance electrical characterization (mobility, on-resistance, channel resistance, threshold voltage, hysteresis), as well as fine electrical measurements (interface state density extraction reliability). 3. The impact of processing steps (wet chemical cleaning, etching, stripping, thermal and plasma treatments)on interface quality will be evaluated, allowing to select the most appropriate MIS gate processing.

Download the offer (.zip)

Point-of-Care medical device development for high sensitivity multiplexed detection of blood biomarkers for health care management of cardiac patients

Département Microtechnologies pour la Biologie et la Santé (LETI)

Laboratoire Biologie et Architecture Microfluidiques

01-09-2020

SL-DRT-20-0451

myriam.cubizolles@cea.fr

Health and environment technologies, medical devices (.pdf)

Health systems must adapt to new societal and economic constraints that constitute an important challenge to address for the health of tomorrow. In this context, the development of Point-of-Care (POC) devices to carry out in vitro analyses provide valuable assistance to the decision-making of the practitioner for the diagnosis and/or prognosis of the disease. In this context, we propose a PhD subject to explore a new strategy to quantify blood biomarkers (proteins, peptides). This strategy is an alternative to the ELISA gold standard method, based on immuno-detection coupled to enzymatic amplification. We propose an innovative approach to develop a medical device for the high sensitivity detection of various significant blood biomarkers for cardiac diseases. The employed strategy is based on the use of original reagents (aptamers) allowing an isothermal multiplex biomolecular amplification, fast and highly sensitive, coupled with protocol integration and automation inside dedicated microfluidic cartridges. The developed biomedical device will be tested on clinical samples.

Download the offer (.zip)

Microstructural changes in additive manufacturing materials during Hot Isostatic Pressing: modelling and experimental study

Département Thermique Biomasse et Hydrogène (LITEN)

Laboratoire Conception et Assemblages

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0470

emmanuel.rigal@cea.fr

Additive manufacturing, new routes for saving materials (.pdf)

Additive manufacturing (AM) processes are promising techniques for manufacturing metallic components from powder or wire feedstock. AM materials exhibit microstructures very different from cast or forged equivalent materials. They are out of equilibrium, sometimes anisotropic, with specific features like a high dislocation density and defects (unmelted particles, pores) which may be detrimental to mechanical properties (creep, fatigue resistance). Defects can be mitigated using a heat treatment under high gas pressure (hot isostatic pressing HIP), at the expense of material softening. The objective of the PhD thesis is to model the microstructural évolutions during HIP in order to optimise the HIP cycle for a given AM microstructure: defects shall be decreased enough while softening shall be limited. A detailed characterisation of the initial microstructure will be done (defects, grain size, dislocation density, precipitates, texture?) in order to provide data for the DIGIMU software. This software uses the level set method to simulate, by finite element calculation, the evolution of a volumic element representative of a microstructure during thermomechanical loading. This software will be enriched. The comparison between modelled evolution and experimentally observed ones will be used to assess the relevancy of the modelling (HIP will be applied on samples). Furthermore, attention will be paid to the evaluation of the impact of the HIP treatment on mechanical properties of AM material (316L steel will be used).

Download the offer (.zip)

5G mmW integrated BiDirectional TRX for hybrid and digital beamforming system

Département Architectures Conception et Logiciels Embarqués (LIST-LETI)

Laboratoire Architectures Intégrées Radiofréquences

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0478

baudouin.martineau@cea.fr

Communication networks, IOT, radiofrequencies and antennas (.pdf)

This thesis addresses the topic of compact, low-cost millimeter wave transceiver in the context of the new coming 5G FR2. Indeed, a considerable number of chips and an area-efficient design will be necessary for hybrid and digital MIMO beamforming. However, conventional transceiver designs use switch-based bidirectional approach with one Tx and one Rx working alternatively in time duplex. For this reason, bi-directional transceiver completely sharing amplifiers and matching networks between the transmitter and the receiver is proposed. Additionally, bidirectional phase shifter, quadrature mixer and baseband amplifier will be studied and design offering a complete solution for hybrid and digital beamforming architecture. The thesis study will cover the architecture, the design and the measurement of such blocs in standalone and the full transceiver. The awaited innovation will encompass several aspect: bidirectional front-end compatible with hybrid configuration, mmW digital beamforming compatible, LO multiplication and local quadrature generation, CMOS SOI process. This phd research will give the opportunity to work in cross-scientific disciplinary from millimeter wave to baseband design and transceiver system architecture offering a very large panel of experiences and competencies. The thesis will take place in the CEA Leti institute under the supervision of Mr Martineau Dr and Mr Belot Hab. The publication in journals and international conferences will be encouraged and facilitated.

Download the offer (.zip)

Study of Vertical GaN Device Architectures

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Electroniques pour l'Energie

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0481

julien.buckley@cea.fr

Emerging materials and processes for nanotechnologies and microelectronics (.pdf)

LETI is currently transferring an AlGaN/GaN epitaxy-based power device technology on 200mm Silicon wafers to a well-established industrial partner in the field of power devices (Silicon, SiC,?) Current GaN transistor technologies that are available on the market have a lateral architecture. They allow to render electric power conversion circuits up to the several 10 kilowatt range. The implementation of a vertical architecture will allow to address power ranges above the megawatt. The work proposed in this PhD will involve a study aiming to evaluate the performance and physical properties at the basis of the operation of vertical devices using GaN substrates. The tasks will involve as well the management of the device fabrication (epitaxy, deposition, lithography, implantation) and electrical measurements. Finite element simulations (TCAD using Synopsys tools) will be performed in order to tune the dimensions of structures that will be included in a mask set and subsequently be used to test physical hypotheses to interpret the electrical results.

Download the offer (.zip)

Aluminum/ Silicon carbide nanocomposites obtained by laser powder bed fusion additive manufacturing process.

Département des Technologies des NanoMatériaux (LITEN)

Laboratoire de Formulation des Matériaux

01-11-2020

SL-DRT-20-0483

mathieu.soulier@cea.fr

Emerging materials and processes for nanotechnologies and microelectronics (.pdf)

Metal matrix composite composed of an aluminum metal matrix embedding silicon carbide inclusions is widely used in various industries from automotive to aerospace or defense. Such composites allow the reduction of the parts weight thanks to an increase of the Young modulus/density ratio drastically higher compared to steels or titanium alloys. The study aims at developing aluminum composites reinforced by nanosized silicon carbide particles to improve the material stiffness without compromising on the elongation to fracture criterion. In addition, shaping by an additive manufacturing process based on a laser powder bed fusion process (L-PBF) should allow further improvements in terms of weight reduction, thus fully complying with the strategical objectives of material savings and environmental impact. The first objective of the thesis is to develop the powder mixing process to obtain homogeneous and stable nanocomposite powder, using either a blade mixing to coat aluminum particles by the nano SiC, or a milling process to include the reinforcements inside the aluminum particles. For the case of blade mixing, the challenge is to identify process conditions that allow an homogeneous repartition of the nano-Sic within the solidified material. The second objective of the thesis is to test the potential of tailored specific nano-SiC reinforcements. To this end, the idea is to use the laser pyrolysis process that allows a modification of the surface chemistry to improve the SiC wettability and also limit its decomposition in the aluminum matrix.

Download the offer (.zip)

190 Results found (Page 4 of 32)
first   previous  2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6  next   last

See all positions

Direction scientifique
Transfert de connaissances vers l'industrie

Nos Thèses par thème

Toutes les offres [+]

Etude des mécanismes de dégradation et Fiabilité dynamique des composants GaN sur Si

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire de Caractérisation et Test Electrique

MASTER2 ou Ecole d'Ingenieur sciences des matériaux, électronique

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0430

william.vandendaele@cea.fr

Matériaux et procédés émergents pour les nanotechnologies et la microélectronique (.pdf)

Les composants de puissance GaN sur Si sont aujourd'hui vus comme la prochaine génération de composants « mass market » pour la conversion d'énergie électrique à haut rendement. Dans ce cadre, le LETI développe sa propre filière GaN sur Si (compatible CMOS) allant du substrat au module final. Ces dispositifs doivent opérer des commutations entre un état de forte tension (~650V) et de fort courant (~20A) à des fréquences élevées (> 100kHz). Les performances statiques et dynamiques étant établies, il est nécessaire de tester la fiabilité de ces composants lors des état de fort stress (OFF et commutation OFF -> ON) ainsi que de comprendre les mécanismes de dégradation sous-jacent afin de stabiliser la technologie et de prétendre à un transfert industriel. Dans la continuité du stage sur le développement des mesures dynamiques sur dispositifs GaN sur Si, le candidat aura en charge : - La finalisation des solutions de mesures ainsi que leurs évolutions notamment pour porter ces tests de dégradation sur prober (détermination de la faisabilité et des limitations) - De l'étude approfondie de la dégradation des performances électriques des transistors (Ron, Vth, Sw?) ou des diodes (Vf, Ron) lors de stress de type AC ou DC afin de déterminer les mécanismes susceptibles de diminuer la fiabilité des composants - La réalisation et la détermination des limites de fonctionnement de la technologie GaN sur Si via des tests de type SSOA (Switching Safe Operating Area) - La compréhension et la localisation des points de défaillance sur les transistors et la diodes GaN sur Si - De proposer des solutions techniques afin d'augmenter la durée de vie des composants auprès du laboratoire LC2E Le candidat devra faire preuve d'esprit d'équipe, de curiosité et d'une grande autonomie

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Optimisation de l'interface diélectrique/GaN pour la grille MIS des transistors de puissance

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Electroniques pour l'Energie

Master Microélectronique ou Science des Matériaux

01-09-2020

SL-DRT-20-0432

laura.vauche@cea.fr

Matériaux et procédés émergents pour les nanotechnologies et la microélectronique (.pdf)

Sur le marché de l'électronique de puissance, un des challenges principaux pour le déploiement des technologies à base de GaN est le développement de composants normally-OFF fiables. Dans le cas de transistors GaN avec une grille MIS, les propriétés de l'interface diélectrique/GaN sont cruciales. L'objectif de cette thèse est d'optimiser l'interface diélectrique/GaN pour la grille MIS des transistors de puissance. Pour cela : 1. La qualité de l'interface diélectrique/GaN sera contrôlée par XPS (X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy). Cette technique permet d'étudier le degré d'oxydation de la surface du GaN. Des analyses complémentaires par ToF-SIMS (Time of Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry) et HRTEM (High Resolution Transmission Electron Microscopy) seront effectuées pour obtenir des informations concernant la composition chimique et la structure cristalline des matériaux. 2. La qualité des composants à base de GaN sera en parallèle étudiée grâce à la caractérisation des propriétés électriques de capacitances et transistors (mobilité, résistance à l'état passant et sous le canal, tension de seuil, hystérésis), ainsi que des mesures électriques fines (extraction états d'interface Dit, fiabilité) 3. La corrélation des résultats matériaux et électriques permettra de déterminer, de manière comparative, si l'interface oxyde/GaN est de bonne qualité afin de choisir les procédés de fabrication les plus adaptés. Pour ce faire, l'impact des différentes étapes de fabrication (nettoyage chimique, gravure, stripping, traitements plasma et recuits) sera évalué.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Développement d'un dispositif médical pour la détection simultanée haute sensibilité de biomarqueurs sanguins pour la prise en charge terrain des patients en souffrance cardiaque

Département Microtechnologies pour la Biologie et la Santé (LETI)

Laboratoire Biologie et Architecture Microfluidiques

Ecole d'ingénieur ou master en ingénierie biomédicale

01-09-2020

SL-DRT-20-0451

myriam.cubizolles@cea.fr

Technologies pour la santé et l?environnement, dispositifs médicaux (.pdf)

Les systèmes de santé doivent s'adapter à de nouvelles contraintes sociétales et économiques, et elles s'avèrent un défi majeur à relever dans le cadre de la médecine du futur. Dans les situations d'urgence où la prise de décision du praticien doit être rapide et efficace, les dispositifs d'analyses in vitro au chevet du patient (POC) fournissent une aide précieuse au diagnostic pour améliorer le soin des patients. Le sujet de thèse proposé s'inscrit dans ce contexte, afin d'explorer une nouvelle voie de dosage de biomarqueurs sanguins (protéines, petites molécules), alternative au « gold standard » que sont les immuno-essais de type ELISA, utilisant une immuno-détection couplée à une amplification enzymatique. Nous proposons d'étudier une approche innovante afin de mettre au point un dispositif médical pour la détection très sensible de différents biomarqueurs sanguins représentatifs de pathologies cardiaques. Cette démarche est basée sur l'utilisation de réactifs originaux (aptamères) permettant une amplification biomoléculaire isotherme multiplexée, rapide et haute sensibilité, couplée à l'intégration et l'automatisation du protocole dans des cartouches microfluidiques dédiées. Le dispositif médical développé sera testé sur des échantillons cliniques.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Evolutions microstructurales de matériaux issus de fabrication additive lors d'un traitement de compression isostatique à chaud : modélisation et étude expérimentale

Département Thermique Biomasse et Hydrogène (LITEN)

Laboratoire Conception et Assemblages

Master 2 métallurgie. Calcul scientifique

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0470

emmanuel.rigal@cea.fr

Fabrication additive, nouvelles voies d?économie de matériaux (.pdf)

Les procédés de fabrication additive sont considérés comme des techniques d'avenir pour l'obtention de composants métalliques à partir de poudres ou fils. Les matériaux obtenus sont caractérisés par des microstructures très différentes de celles de leurs homologues coulés ou forgés. Elles sont hors d'équilibre, parfois anisotropes, présentent des intérêts (forte densité de dislocations par exemple) mais aussi des défauts (pores, infondus) nuisibles à certaines propriétés mécaniques (fatigue, fluage). Les défauts (ou leur nocivité) peuvent être diminués par un traitement thermique sous pression de gaz (CIC), au prix d'un effet de recuit qui adoucit le matériau. L'objectif de la thèse est de modéliser les évolutions microstructurales lors du traitement afin d'optimiser celui-ci, c'est-à-dire être capable de l'adapter à une microstructure de départ donnée, de diminuer suffisamment les défauts en contenant le recuit. Une caractérisation fine des microstructures sera nécessaire (défauts, taille de grain, densité de dislocations, précipités, texture?) afin d'alimenter le logiciel de simulation DIGIMU qui utilise la méthode Level set pour simuler, par calcul aux éléments finis, l'évolution d'un volume élémentaire représentatif d'une microstructure lors d'un chargement thermomécanique. Le logiciel devra être enrichi. La comparaison modèle/expérience permettra de juger la pertinence des résultats (cycles de CIC sur échantillon). On mesurera l'impact de cycles de CIC optimisés sur les propriétés mécaniques des matériaux d'étude (a priori, essentiellement l'acier 316L).

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Transmetteur intégré bidirectionnel dédié à la 5G MMW dans un système de formation de faisceau hybride et numérique

Département Architectures Conception et Logiciels Embarqués (LIST-LETI)

Laboratoire Architectures Intégrées Radiofréquences

Master 2 / ingénieur en conceptinon microelectronique RF

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0478

baudouin.martineau@cea.fr

Réseaux de communication, internet des objets, radiofréquences et antennes (.pdf)

Cette thèse aborde le sujet des émetteurs-récepteurs d'ondes millimétriques compacts et économiques dans le contexte de la nouvelle norme 5G FR2. En effet, un nombre considérable de puces et une conception économe en surface seront nécessaires pour l'utilisation des techniques de formation de faisceau MIMO hybride et numérique. Cependant, les conceptions d'émetteur-récepteur conventionnelles utilisent une approche bidirectionnelle basée sur un commutateur avec un émetteur (Tx) et un récepteur (Rx) fonctionnant alternativement en duplex temporel. Pour cette raison, un émetteur-récepteur bidirectionnel partageant complètement les amplificateurs et les réseaux correspondants entre l'émetteur et le récepteur est proposé. De plus, un déphaseur bidirectionnel, un mélangeur en quadrature et un amplificateur en bande de base seront étudiés et conçus afin d'offrir une solution complète pour une architecture système compatible avec une approche hybride ou numérique. La thèse portera sur l'architecture, la conception et la mesure de tels blocs en émetteur-récepteur autonome et complet. L'innovation attendue englobera plusieurs aspects: interface frontale bidirectionnelle compatible avec la formation de faisceau aux fréquences mmW, multiplication LO et génération en quadrature locale ainsi que l'utilisation de technologies CMOS SOI. Cette recherche doctorale permettra de travailler dans des disciplines interdisciplinaires allant des ondes millimétriques à la conception analogique en bande de base ainsi qu'à l'architecture de systèmes émetteur-récepteur, offrant un très large éventail d'expériences et de compétences.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Etude d'Architectures de Composants Verticaux en GaN

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Electroniques pour l'Energie

Master 2 ou Ingénieur avec connaissances en physique des composants

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-0481

julien.buckley@cea.fr

Matériaux et procédés émergents pour les nanotechnologies et la microélectronique (.pdf)

Le LETI transfère actuellement une technologie de dispositifs de puissance AlGaN/GaN épitaxiés sur substrats Silicium 200mm avec un industriel reconnu dans le domaine du développement des composants de puissance (Silicium, SiC, ?). Les technologies de transistors en GaN actuellement disponibles sur le marché ont une architecture latérale. Elles permettent de réaliser des circuits de conversion électrique jusqu'à environ quelques 10 kilowatt. Le passage à une architecture verticale permettra d'adresser des niveaux de puissance plus élevés au-delà du megawatt. Le travail de thèse consistera à mener une étude évaluant les performances et les propriétés physiques à la base du fonctionnement des composants verticaux réalisés sur substrats GaN. Les actions comprendront également le pilotage de la fabrication (épitaxie, dépôt, lithographie, implantation) et des mesures électriques. Des simulations par éléments finis (TCAD avec outils Synopsys) seront réalisées pour dimensionner les structures à inclure dans un réticule et par la suite tester des hypothèses physiques pour interpréter les résultats électriques.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

183 (Page 4 sur 31)
first   previous  2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6  next   last
-->

Voir toutes nos offres