Scientific direction Development of key enabling technologies
Transfer of knowledge to industry

PhD : selection by topics

See all positions [+]

Evaluation of photobiomodulation properties to optimize organ transplant

Clinatec (LETI)

Clinatec (LETI)

01-11-2020

SL-DRT-20-1236

cecile.moro@cea.fr

Health and environment technologies, medical devices (.pdf)

Grafts do not always meet the eligibility criteria, thus limiting the number of grafts available. One way to increase this number would be to repackage "borderline" grafts and / or protect them from the damage inherent in the transplantation protocol (in particular due to the ischemia-reperfusion processes), and to promote the phenomena of revascularization and scarring. An innovative light therapy, photobiomodulation, could optimize and protect these grafts. Here we wish to assess the therapeutic potential of photobiomodulation in several preclinical transplantation models. Complementary cell biology studies will allow a better understanding of the mechanisms used. This research program will cover several therapeutic areas, and will be carried out in conjunction with multidisciplinary research teams outside the CEA.

Download the offer (.zip)

Reliability of power amplifiers: modeling, design and test strategies

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire de Caractérisation et Test Electrique

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-1251

alexis.divay@cea.fr

Communication networks, IOT, radiofrequencies and antennas (.pdf)

With the rise of 5G, RF and millimeter circuits are increasing in the telecommunications sector. In the reception / transmission chain, the power amplifier (PA) is a key element and it is critical to the proper functioning of transmissions. The reliability of the latter is an important element because the RF excursions at the terminals of the device are strong and the signal shapes are complex, bringing dynamic aging mechanisms into play. In this context, the designer must rely on aging simulation tools to be able to correctly size his circuit. One of the first objectives of the thesis is to better understand the aging mechanisms put into play at the CMOS level through stress campaigns in DC and in broad signal RF on a Load-Pull bench. The transistors studied will be MOS with fine oxide as well as devices optimized for high power (DMOS). Then, different topologies of the power stage will be studied in order to correlate the design with a possible gain in reliability. Finally, an in-situ monitoring system for the degradation of the device will be proposed to compensate for performance losses or to alert in the event of an imminent failure.

Download the offer (.zip)

Micro-concentration photovoltaics for space

Département des Technologies Solaires (LITEN)

Laboratoire Photovoltaďque ŕ Concentration

01-11-2020

SL-DRT-20-1254

philippe.voarino@cea.fr

Solar energy for energy transition (.pdf)

Originally, silicon solar cells developed for space applications following their first use in 1958, with efficiency around 7-8%. Nowadays, the GaInP/GaAs/Ge triple-junctions solar cells, offering higher efficiencies and higher radiation hardness (electrons & protons), are the mainstream solution for powering space missions. However, the cost remains a significant fraction of space solar arrays based on this cell technology. On the other hand, Concentrator PhotoVoltaics (CPV) is a proven approach, developed mainly for terrestrial applications, to reduce the amount of expensive III-V cells, utilizing either reflective or refractive elements to focus the sunlight onto a much smaller solar cell area, while boosting the conversion efficiency. Thus, the use of CPV for space application appears as a promising performance/price tradeoff, which in addition can be a mission enabler for deep space low irradiation environment1. Yet, CPV for space still need to tackle the challenges of mass, reliability in harsh environment, heat dissipation and optical losses. The development of a new generation of micro-concentration photovoltaics solutions, µ-CPV2, have the potential to address many of these issues at once. µ-CPV systems are based on sub-millimeter (< 1 mm˛) size solar cells, which enable both passive heat dissipation and compact optics. Recently, proof of concepts µ-CPV systems have shown efficiencies > 25% at low concentration and with large acceptance angles3. Within this context, this PhD offer will focus on an innovative & lightweight µ-CPV design addressing the key metrics of W/kg, W/m2 and W/m3, the cost. The scientific challenges associated concern the study and comprehension of degradation mechanism of materials and optical systems exposed to space environmental constraints (thermal cycling, UV, charged particles irradiations, etc.). The main objectives of this work are the following: - Definition of a smart µ-CPV cell & array design adapted for low/medium concentration in space, based on the laboratories expertise in the field & in depth literature review - Fabrication of µ-cells and development of materials and module fabrication/assembly processes - The final µ-CPV array performance will be optically/electrically characterized and its resilience to ageing tests will be studied. A loop on this iterative process will enable a fully optimized, manufactural, low cost and lightweight µ-CPV system array by the end of the PhD thesis. This work will bring scientific and technical insights on materials and optical systems behavior under space constraints, and thus will lead to communications, publications & patents. International collaboration: This PhD thesis will happen in the framework of a collaboration between CEA-LITEN (INES, Le Bourget du Lac, France) and Fraunhofer ISE (Freiburg, Germany). Strong interactions are foreseen between teams and PhD students of both institutes: joint roadmap, scientific exchange, training, etc. Expected Start: November 2020 ? 3 years duration References: 1 P.M. Stella, 34th Intersociety Energy Conversion Engineering Conference, (1999). 2 A. Ritou et., Sol. Energy 173, 789 (2018). 3 C.J. Ruud et al., Opt. Express 27, A1467 (2019).

Download the offer (.zip)

Basic Abstractions for consistent and auditable Byzantine tolerant distributed systems.

Département Ingénierie Logiciels et Systčmes (LIST)

Lab.systčmes d'information de confiance, intelligents et auto-organisants

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-1265

antonella.delpozzo@cea.fr

Artificial intelligence & Data intelligence (.pdf)

Data auditability, along with security and privacy, is recently gaining more and more importance with the advent of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Concisely, GDPR is a set of regulations, covering the entire lifecycle of personal data, which has a dramatic effect on the current Information Systems (IS), in particular distributed data storages and the emerging Blockchain technology. The objective of this doctoral thesis is to formalize the GDPR criteria in the context of distributed systems abstractions and to assess the feasibility of GDPR compliant distributed system solutions. The result of this thesis will be a more clear comprehension of the possibilities (in terms of new protocols) and impossibilities for next generation of GDPR compliant distributed abstractions.

Download the offer (.zip)

88 Results found (Page 15 of 15)
first   previous  11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15

See all positions

Direction scientifique
Transfert de connaissances vers l'industrie

Nos Thèses par thème

Toutes les offres [+]

Evaluation du potentiel therapeutique de la photobiomodulation dans le contexte de la transplantation d'organes

Clinatec (LETI)

Clinatec (LETI)

M2 biologie; Niveau 1 expérimentation animale

01-11-2020

SL-DRT-20-1236

cecile.moro@cea.fr

Technologies pour la santé et l?environnement, dispositifs médicaux (.pdf)

Les greffons potentiels ne répondent pas toujours aux critères d'éligibilité, limitant ainsi le nombre de greffons disponibles. Une façon d'augmenter ce nombre serait de reconditionner des greffons "limites" et/ou de les protéger des dégâts inhérents au protocole de greffe (notamment du fait des processus ischémie-reperfusion), et de favoriser les phénomènes de revascularisation et de cicatrisation. Une thérapie innovante par la lumière, la photobiomodulation, pourrait permettre d'optimiser et de protéger ces greffons. Nous souhaitons ici évaluer le potentiel thérapeutique de la photobiomodulation dans plusieurs modèles précliniques de transplantation. Des études complémentaires de biologie cellulaire permettront de mieux appréhender les mécanismes mis en ?uvre. Ce programme de recherche portera sur plusieurs domaines thérapeutiques, et sera réalisé en lien avec des équipes de recherche multidisciplinaires extérieures au CEA.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Fiabilité des amplificateurs de puissance : modélisation, design stratégies et test

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire de Caractérisation et Test Electrique

M2 ou diplôme d'ingénieur

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-1251

alexis.divay@cea.fr

Réseaux de communication, internet des objets, radiofréquences et antennes (.pdf)

Avec l'essor de la 5G les circuits RF et millimétriques se multiplient dans le domaine des télécommunications. Dans la chaine de réception/transmission, l'amplificateur de puissance (PA) est un élément clé et il est critique au bon fonctionnement des transmissions. La fiabilité de ce dernier est un élément important car les excursions RF aux bornes du dispositif sont fortes et les formes de signaux sont complexes, mettant en jeux des mécanismes de vieillissement en dynamique. Dans ce contexte, le concepteur doit s'appuyer sur des outils de simulation de vieillissement pour pouvoir dimensionner correctement son circuit. Un des premiers objectifs de la thèse est de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de vieillissement mis en jeux au niveau CMOS à travers des campagnes de stress en DC et en RF large signal sur un banc Load-Pull. Les transistors étudiés seront des MOS avec oxyde fin ainsi que des dispositifs optimisés pour la forte puissance (DMOS). Ensuite, différentes topologies de l'étage de puissance seront étudiées afin de corréler le design avec un gain éventuel en fiabilité. Pour finir, un système de monitoring in-situ de la dégradation du dispositif sera proposée afin de compenser les pertes de performance ou d'alerter en cas de défaillance imminente.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Micro-concentration photovoltaïque pour le spatial

Département des Technologies Solaires (LITEN)

Laboratoire Photovoltaïque à Concentration

Master II or engineering School (equivalence Master II)

01-11-2020

SL-DRT-20-1254

philippe.voarino@cea.fr

Energie solaire pour la transition énergétique (.pdf)

À l'origine, les cellules solaires en silicium ont été développées pour des applications spatiales, suite à leur première utilisation en 1958 (rendement initial ~ 7-8%). Aujourd'hui, les cellules solaires à triple jonction GaInP/GaAs/Ge, qui offrent un meilleur rendement et une meilleure résistance aux irradiations (électrons et protons), sont la solution la plus courante pour alimenter en électricité les missions spatiales. Cependant, la fraction du coût associé à ces cellules reste importante pour des panneaux solaires spatiaux basés sur cette technologie de cellules. Le photovoltaïque à concentration (CPV), développée principalement pour les applications terrestres, est une technologie qui permet de réduire nettement les coûts cellule, en utilisant des éléments optiques réflectifs ou réfractifs pour concentrer la lumière sur une surface de cellule solaire beaucoup plus petite, tout en augmentant le rendement de conversion. Ainsi, l'utilisation du CPV pour les applications spatiales en orbite terrestre apparaît comme un compromis performance/coût prometteur, qui peut en plus permettre de solariser des missions pour l'espace lointain dans les environnements à faible irradiance1. Cependant, le CPV pour le spatial doit encore relever les défis de la légèreté, de la fiabilité face aux contraintes environnementales, de la gestion thermique et des pertes optiques. Le développement d'une nouvelle génération de solutions photovoltaïques à micro-concentration, le µ-CPV2, peut permettre de résoudre un grand nombre de ces problèmes. Les systèmes µ-CPV sont basés sur des cellules solaires de taille submillimétrique (< 1 mm²) qui permettent à la fois la dissipation passive de la chaleur et une optique compacte. Récemment, ce type de système µ-CPV a démontré des rendements > 25% sous faible concentration, pour de grands angles d'acceptance3. Dans ce contexte, ce travail de thèse se concentre sur une conception innovante et légère de système µ-CPV en adressant les paramètres clés W/kg, W/m2 et W/m3, ainsi que le coût. Les défis scientifiques associés concernent l'étude et la compréhension des mécanismes de vieillissement des matériaux et systèmes optiques exposés aux contraintes de l'environnement spatial (cyclage thermique, UV, irradiations, etc.). Les principaux objectifs de ce travail sont les suivants : - Définition d'un conception intelligent de cellules et de module µ-CPV adaptés à une concentration faible/moyenne dans l'espace, sur la base de l'expertise des laboratoires dans ce domaine et d'une étude bibliographique approfondie - Fabrication de microcellules et développement de matériaux et procédés de fabrication/assemblage de modules µ-CPV - Caractérisation finale du système µ-CPV, au niveau optique/électrique, et étude de sa résistance aux tests de vieillissement. Ces travaux permettront, par un processus itératif, l'obtention d'un système µ-CPV entièrement optimisé, manufacturable, léger et à faible coût d'ici la fin de la thèse de doctorat ; les connaissances scientifiques et techniques générées déboucheront sur des communications, des articles et des brevets. Collaboration internationale : Cette thèse de doctorat s'inscrira dans le cadre d'une collaboration entre le CEA-LITEN (INES, Le Bourget du Lac, France) et le Fraunhofer ISE (Fribourg-en-Brisgau, Allemagne). Des interactions fortes avec les équipes et doctorants des deux instituts sont planifiées : roadmap commune, séjours scientifiques, formation, etc. Début souhaité : Novembre 2020 ? 3 ans Références : 1 P.M. Stella, 34th Intersociety Energy Conversion Engineering Conference, (1999). 2 A. Ritou et., Sol. Energy 173, 789 (2018). 3 C.J. Ruud et al., Opt. Express 27, A1467 (2019).

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Abstractions basiques pour des systèmes distribués tolérant aux fautes byzantines, consistantes et auditable.

Département Ingénierie Logiciels et Systèmes (LIST)

Lab.systèmes d'information de confiance, intelligents et auto-organisants

01-10-2020

SL-DRT-20-1265

antonella.delpozzo@cea.fr

Data intelligence dont Intelligence Artificielle (.pdf)

En même temps que la sécurité et la confidentialité, l'auditabilité des données a récemment pris de plus en plus d'importance avec l'avènement du règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD). En résumé, le RGPD est un ensemble de réglementations couvrant l'ensemble du cycle de vie des données personnelles, ce qui a un effet dramatique sur les systèmes d'information (SI) actuels, en particulier les stockages de données distribués et la technologie émergente qu'est la blockchain. L'objectif de cette thèse de doctorat est de formaliser les critères du RGPD dans le contexte des abstractions de systèmes distribués et d'évaluer la faisabilité de solutions de systèmes distribués conformes au RGPD. Le résultat de cette thèse sera une compréhension plus claire des possibilités (en termes de nouveaux protocoles) et des impossibilités pour la prochaine génération d'abstractions distribuées conformes au RGPD.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

88 (Page 15 sur 15)
first   previous  11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15
-->

Voir toutes nos offres