Scientific direction Development of key enabling technologies
Transfer of knowledge to industry

PhD : selection by topics

See all positions [+]

embedded elapsed-time attestation

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sécurité des Objets et des Systèmes Physiques

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0089

christine.hennebert@cea.fr

Cyber security : hardware and sofware (.pdf)

With the emergence of a protocol that secures a history of transactions on a peer-to-peer network, Bitcoin introduced the first decentralized digital currency in 2009. The security of the Bitcoin protocol is based on the proof of work and common rules and procedures among peers in the network who participate in the consensus, i.e. the choice of the next block of data to be added to the shared and replicated ledger. The proof of work has two major drawbacks. On the one hand, it ensures security by design by requiring nodes participating in the consensus to work with a computing intensity corresponding to the maximum of Moore's law, which is obviously very energy consuming. On the other hand, the parallelization of this proof process with an implementation in ASICs makes the system vulnerable to Sybil-type attacks by recentralizing resources. The mining pools exploit this vulnerability. The present thesis topic aims at building a proof for embedded and resource constrained objects, which ensures the security of a transaction history at low power. The work will focus on the embedded implementation of the proof mechanism on a system-on-module platform using a TPM 2.0 (Trusted Platform Module) security hardware component as root-of-trust. The solution introduced will have to be robust to the above-mentioned drawbacks and vulnerabilities.

Download the offer (.zip)

Fault injection and integrity of edge neural networks: attacks, protections, evaluation

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sécurité des Objets et des Systèmes Physiques

01-02-2021

SL-DRT-21-0159

pierre-alain.moellic@cea.fr

Artificial intelligence & Data intelligence (.pdf)

One of the major trends of Artificial Intelligence is the large-scale deployment of Machine Learning systems to a large variety of embedded platforms. A lot of semi-conductor practioners propose "A.I. suitable" products, majoritarely with neural networks for inference purpose. The security of the embedded models is a major issue for the deployment of these systems. Several works raised threats such as the adversarial examples or the membership inference attacks with disastrous impact. These works consider the ML aglorithms through a pure algorithmic point of view without taking into consideration the specificities of their physical implementation. Moreover, advanced works are compulsory for physical attacks (i.e., side-channel and fault injection analysis). By considering a overall attack surface gathering the theoretical (i.e. algorithmic) and physical facets, this subject propose to analyze Fault Injection Analysis threats (FIA) targeting the integrity of the model (fooling a prediction) of embedded machine learning systems and the development of appropriate protections. Several works have studied physical attacks for embedded neural networks but with usually naive model architecture on 'simple' 8-bit microcontrolers, or FPGA or at a pure simulation level. These works do not try to link the fault models or the leakages with well-known algorithmic threats. Being based on the experience on other critical systems (e.g., cryptographic primitive), the main idea of this PhD subject will be to jointly analysis the algorithmic and physical world in order to better understand the complexity of the threats and develop efficient defense schemes. The works will answer the following scientific challenges: (1) Caracterization and exploitation of fault models: how to exploit fault injection mechanisms (laser, EM, glitching) to fool the prediction of a model with minimal perturbations. (2) Evaluation of the relevance of classical countermeasures (such as redundancy-based techniques) for this kind of systems and threats. (3) Develop new protections suitable to embedded neural networks.

Download the offer (.zip)

Autonomous network management solution for deterministic networks using Artificial Intelligence (AI) techniques

Département Intelligence Ambiante et Systèmes Interactifs (LIST)

Laboratoire Systèmes Communiquants

01-02-2021

SL-DRT-21-0178

siwar.benhadjsaid@cea.fr

Communication networks, IOT, radiofrequencies and antennas (.pdf)

The objective of the thesis is to explore and evaluate the gain that could bring the Artificial Intelligence (AI) techniques to the network management solutions for deterministic networks. The goal is to help deterministic networks to ensure the preservation of the quality of service (QoS) during the routing of end-to-end data flow no matter what changes are made to the network. This will allow to design an autonomous network management solution that is able to configure deterministic networks in the most appropriate way and adapt the configuration when needed (e.g. new terminal connecting to the network, unexpected high latency for certain critical flows, change of the topology caused by the reorganization / reconfiguration of components of the production chain in the factory etc.). This solution will use artificial intelligence methods to learn from experience the conditions that lead to non-compliance with application flow requirements (high latency, low bandwidth, etc.). Learning takes place to recognize, upstream, the situations that may lead to non-compliance with the constraints of application flows and also to predict the effects of changes in input data (new terminal, reorganization of the plant, etc.) on the level of QoS provided to flows in transit. Based on such knowledge, the solution will anticipate QoS degradation situations and, consequently, will decide and push the adequate network reconfiguration which will make it possible to respect the constraints associated with each application flow.

Download the offer (.zip)

Distributed resource allocation for meshed networks of mobile users in shared spectrum

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sans fils Haut Débit

01-09-2021

SL-DRT-21-0186

mickael.maman@cea.fr

Communication networks, IOT, radiofrequencies and antennas (.pdf)

In future 5G wireless networks, it is imperative to easily deploy and manage a private network of mobile users such as a fleet of vehicles or UAVs. The objective of this thesis is to define a distributed resource allocation for mesh networks of mobile users in the shared spectrum through resource pooling (time/frequency) and efficient management of directional antenna beams. While existing studies focus on maximizing the performance of static backhaul multi-beam mesh networks, we are interested in collaborative local/distributed learning between mobile users. The first step of this thesis will be to integrate a realistic model of sub 6-GHz and/or mmW directional antennas in a network simulator. A trade off between the spatiality of the directivity, the antenna efficiency and the complexity of the algorithm will be made for point-to-point and point-to-multipoint communications. Moreover the antenna configurations will be contextualized between the communication, discovery or tracking phases. The second step of this thesis will concern the design of the distributed resource allocation protocol during different stages of the network life: deployment, self-optimization and self-healing. A trade-off will be made between the type and latency of antenna (re)configuration, the accuracy of beam alignment, the channel coherence time for mobile users (volatile connectivity) and the convergence time of the scheduling.

Download the offer (.zip)

Automatic design of secure hardware architectures

Département Systèmes et Circuits Intégrés Numériques

Laboratoire Environnement de Conception et Architecture

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0190

caaliph.andriamisaina@cea.fr

Cyber security : hardware and sofware (.pdf)

Embedded systems are more and more ubiquitous and interconnected; they are an attractive target for security attacks. The security aspect is thus becoming more and more important when designing these systems, as a vulnerability in one system can compromise an entire infrastructure of connected systems. Thus, each system contributes to the construction of a global chain of trust. Moreover, given the increasing complexity of the applications running on these systems, it is becoming increasingly difficult to meet all security criteria (for instance application isolation, system authentication, secret and private data protection, communications protection). The design of these systems therefore requires an in-depth analysis of the various security constraints to which they are subject, based on a threat model associated with the potential attacker. While extra-functional design objectives such as performance, power consumption and area are generally well taken into account during the very early stages of embedded system design, security is still generally considered afterwards, leading to security solutions seen as an addition to the initial system. This design approach needs to be reconsidered in order to develop solutions that integrate security by construction and no longer as an additional element. The objective of this thesis is thus to take into account the security constraints in addition to the performance, power consumption and area constraints during the design space exploration (DSE) of hardware architectures in order to automatically generate an architecture optimized with respect to all these constraints. This study will begin with an analysis of the threat models in particular with respect to hardware attacks and existing countermeasures at the hardware level. Then, the security modeling and quantifying in the context of DSE will be carried out, as it will be essential to clearly characterize the techniques and approaches for taking into account the security needs of the systems. From this step, the candidate will propose a DSE flow of hardware architectures taking into account security constraints, in addition to power consumption, performance and area constraints. The goal is to be able to analyze the security, area, power consumption and performance trade-offs according to the designers' specifications at both functional and non-functional levels. This flow will then be applied to a practical case of hardware architecture design in order to validate the developed DSE approach. The developed solutions will have to demonstrate their level of robustness with respect to the security constraint in order to guarantee the security of the systems while respecting and optimizing the other design constraints.

Download the offer (.zip)

Proof of functional equivalence of binary codes in the context of programs hardening

Département Systèmes et Circuits Intégrés Numériques

Laboratoire Fonctions Innovantes pour circuits Mixtes

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0192

damien.courousse@cea.fr

Cyber security : hardware and sofware (.pdf)

The general context of this thesis is the cyber-security of embedded systems. The research background of this thesis is tied to the automatic application of counter-measures against the so-called physical attacks, which encompass observation attacks (side-channel attacks) and perturbation attacks (fault-injection attacks). The CEA List is working on COGITO, a compiler toolchain based on LLVM for the automatic application of software counter-measures against physical attacks. Given a source-level implementation of an unprotected program, our toolchain produces an optimised binary program including targeted counter-measures, such that the compiled program is hardened against a specified threat model. Two key points are today crucial to trust the compiled programs: 1. the proof of robustness of programs produced by our toolchain, 2. the proof that adding counter-measures does not alter the functionality of the target programs. This thesis will target the second point: bringing formal guarantees about the functional correctness of the secured programs. We will use sound and exhaustive symbolic reasoning, supported by BINSEC (). BINSEC is an open-source toolset developed at CEA List to help improve software security at the binary level. It relies on cutting-edge research in binary code analysis, at the intersection of formal methods, program analysis, security and software engineering. The PhD thesis will be hosted at the CEA in Grenoble, in a multidisciplinary environment including experts in embedded software, cyber-security, hardware design, and machine learning. Short-term stays at the DILS at the CEA in Saclay will be planned throughout the three years of the thesis to collaborate with experts and developers of BINSEC.

Download the offer (.zip)

138 Results found (Page 1 of 23)
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5  next   last

See all positions

Direction scientifique
Transfert de connaissances vers l'industrie

Nos Thèses par thème

Toutes les offres [+]

Attestation d'un temps écoulé dans un dispositif embarqué

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sécurité des Objets et des Systèmes Physiques

bac+5 / M2 sécurité des systèmes embarqués, cyber-sécurité, cryptographie

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0089

christine.hennebert@cea.fr

Cybersécurité : hardware et software (.pdf)

Avec l'émergence d'un protocole sécurisant un historique de transactions sur un réseau de pair-à-pair, Bitcoin a introduit en 2009 la première crypto-monnaie numérique et décentralisée. La sécurité du protocole Bitcoin s'appuie sur la preuve de travail et sur des règles et procédures communes aux pairs du réseau voulant participer au consensus, c'est-à-dire au choix du prochain bloc de données qui sera ajouté au ledger partagé et répliqué. La preuve de travail présente deux inconvénients majeurs. D'une part, elle assure la sécurité par construction en requérant des n?uds participants au consensus un travail dont l'intensité correspond au maximum de la loi de Moore, ce qui est évidemment très consommateur d'énergie. D'autre part, la parallélisation de ce processus de preuve avec une implémentation dans des ASICs rend le système vulnérable à des attaques de type Sybil en recentralisant les ressources. Cette vulnérabilité est exploitée par les pools de mining. Le présent sujet de thèse vise à construire une preuve destinée à l'embarqué et aux objets contraints en ressources, qui assure la sécurité d'un historique de transactions à faible consommation. Le travail se concentrera sur l'implémentation embarqué du mécanisme de preuve sur une plateforme de type « system-on-module » en s'appuyant sur une composant matériel de sécurité de type TPM 2.0 (Trusted Platform Module) comme racine de confiance (« root-of-trust »). La solution introduite devra être robuste aux inconvénients et vulnérabilités précités.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Injection de fautes et Intégrité des réseaux de neurones embarqués : attaques, protections, évaluation

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sécurité des Objets et des Systèmes Physiques

Intelligence Artificielle; Microélectronique; Systèmes embarqués

01-02-2021

SL-DRT-21-0159

pierre-alain.moellic@cea.fr

Data intelligence dont Intelligence Artificielle (.pdf)

Une des tendances majeures de l'Intelligence Artificielle aujourd'hui est le déploiement massif des systèmes de Machine Learning sur une multitude de plateformes embarquées. La majorité des fabricants de semi-conducteurs proposent des produits « compatibles A.I. », principalement pour des réseaux de neurones pour de l'inférence. La sécurité est un des grands freins au déploiement de ces systèmes. De nombreux travaux soulèvent des menaces aux impacts désastreux pour leur développement, comme les « adversarial examples » ou le « membership inference ». Ces travaux considèrent les algorithmes de ML selon un point de vue purement algorithmique sans prendre en considérations les particularités de leur implémentation matérielle. De plus, des études plus poussées sont indispensables sur les attaques physiques (side-channel et injection de fautes). En considérant une surface d'attaque regroupant les aspects algorithmiques et matériels, la thèse propose d'analyser des menaces de type Fault Injection Analysis (FIA) ciblant l'intégrité des modèles (tromper une prédiction) des systèmes EML et le développement de protections efficaces. Quelques travaux s'intéressent aux attaques physiques contre des réseaux de neurones embarqués mais avec des architectures très simples sur des microcontrôleurs 8-bit, ou FPGA ou en pure simulation. Ces travaux ne proposent pas encore des liens entre les modèles de fautes ou les fuites mises en évidence et les failles algorithmiques. En se basant sur l'expérience d'autres systèmes critiques (e.g., module cryptographique), la philosophie de la thèse sera de considérer conjointement le monde algorithmique et le monde physique pour mieux appréhender la complexité des menaces et développer des protections appropriées. La thèse s'intéressera aux questions scientifiques suivantes : (1) Caractérisation et exploitation de modèles de fautes : comment exploiter des disfonctionnements par injections de fautes (laser, EM ou glitch) pour tromper la prédiction d'un modèle de type réseau de neurones profond en minimisant la perturbation. (2) Evaluation des mécanismes de protections classiques : quel est la pertinence et l'efficacité des schémas de défenses classiques (e.g. mécanismes de redondances) pour ce type de systèmes et de menaces ? (3) Développement de nouvelles protections appropriées aux réseaux de neurones embarqués.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Solution autonome de gestion des réseaux déterministes en utilisant les techniques de l'Intelligence Artificielle (IA)

Département Intelligence Ambiante et Systèmes Interactifs (LIST)

Laboratoire Systèmes Communiquants

01-02-2021

SL-DRT-21-0178

siwar.benhadjsaid@cea.fr

Réseaux de communication, internet des objets, radiofréquences et antennes (.pdf)

L'objectif de la thèse est d'étudier l'apport de l'Intelligence Artificielle (IA) dans le cadre de la gestion des réseaux déterministes afin d'assurer la préservation de la qualité de service (QoS) lors de l'acheminement des flux de données de bout-en-bout. Ceci permettra de concevoir une solution autonome de gestion des réseaux, capable de configurer les réseaux déterministes de la manière la plus appropriée et d'adapter la configuration selon le besoin (par exemple, nouveau terminal qui se connecte au réseau, forte latence inattendue pour certains flux critiques, changement de la topologie causé par la réorganisation/reconfiguration de composants de la chaine de production dans l'usine etc.). Cette solution utilisera les méthodes de l'intelligence artificielle pour apprendre par l'expérience les conditions qui amènent au non-respect des exigences des flux applicatifs (forte latence, faible bande passante?). L'apprentissage intervient pour reconnaitre, en amont, les situations pouvant amener le non-respect des contraintes des flux applicatifs et également prévoir les effets de modifications des données d'entrées (nouveau terminal, réorganisation de la topologie sous-jacente, etc.) sur les niveaux de QoS assurés aux flux en cours d'acheminement. En se basant sur une telle connaissance, la solution anticipera les situations de dégradation de la QoS et, en conséquence, mettra en place une reconfiguration du réseau déterministe pour préserver la QoS qui permettra de respecter les contraintes associées à chaque flux applicatif.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Allocation de ressources distribuée pour des réseaux maillés d'utilisateurs mobiles en spectre partagé

Département Systèmes (LETI)

Laboratoire Sans fils Haut Débit

Ecole d'ingénieur/ Master2 informatique / télécom

01-09-2021

SL-DRT-21-0186

mickael.maman@cea.fr

Réseaux de communication, internet des objets, radiofréquences et antennes (.pdf)

Dans les futurs réseaux 5G, il sera important de pouvoir déployer et gérer facilement un réseau privé d'utilisateurs mobiles comme une flotte de véhicules ou de drones. L'objectif de cette thèse est de définir une allocation de ressources distribuée pour des réseaux maillés d'utilisateurs mobiles dans le spectre partagé grâce à une mise en commun de ressources (temps/fréquence) et au management efficace des faisceaux d'antennes directives. Alors que les études existantes portent principalement sur la maximisation des performances de réseaux maillés multi-beam de type backhaul statique, nous nous intéresseront à un apprentissage local/distribué collaboratif entre des utilisateurs mobiles. La première étape de cette thèse sera d'intégrer un modèle réaliste d'antennes directives sub 6-GHz et/ou mmW dans un simulateur réseau. Le premier objectif sera de faire un compromis entre la spatialité de la directivité, l'efficacité de l'antenne et la complexité de l'algorithme pour des communications point à point et point à multi-point. Le second objectif sera de contextualiser les fonctionnalités de l'antenne entre les phases de communication, de découverte ou de suivi. La seconde étape de cette thèse concernera le design du protocole d'allocation de ressources distribuée durant différentes étapes de la vie du réseau: le déploiement, l'auto-optimisation et l'auto-guérison. Un compromis sera fait entre le type et le temps de (re)configuration des antennes, la précision de l'alignement des faisceaux, le temps de cohérence du canal pour des utilisateurs mobiles (connectivité volatile) et le temps de convergence du protocole d'allocation.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Conception automatique d'architectures matérielles sécurisées

Département Systèmes et Circuits Intégrés Numériques

Laboratoire Environnement de Conception et Architecture

Master 2 en cybersécurité

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0190

caaliph.andriamisaina@cea.fr

Cybersécurité : hardware et software (.pdf)

Les systèmes embarqués sont de plus en plus omniprésents et interconnectés, ils sont une cible attrayante pour les attaques de sécurité. L'aspect sécurité devient ainsi de plus en plus important lors de la conception de ces systèmes dans la mesure où une vulnérabilité dans un système peut compromettre toute une infrastructure de systèmes connectés. Ainsi, chaque système contribue à la construction d'une chaine globale de confiance. En outre, étant donné la complexité croissante des applications qui fonctionnent sur ces systèmes, il devient de plus en plus difficile de répondre à tous les critères de sécurité (par exemple, le cloisonnement d'applications, l'authentification des systèmes, la protection des données secrètes et privées, la protection des communications). La conception de ces systèmes nécessite donc une analyse approfondie des différentes contraintes de sécurité auxquelles ils sont soumis en fonction d'un modèle de menaces associé à l'attaquant potentiel. Alors que les objectifs de conception extra-fonctionnelle tels que la performance, la consommation de puissance et la surface sont généralement bien pris en compte dès les toutes premières étapes de la conception des systèmes embarqués, la sécurité est encore généralement considérée à posteriori, ce qui conduit à des solutions de sécurité vues comme des ajouts au système initial. Cette approche de conception doit être repensée afin de développer des solutions intégrant la sécurité par construction et non plus comme un élément additionnel venant a posteriori ajouter certaines fonctions de sécurité. L'objectif de cette thèse est donc de prendre en compte les contraintes de sécurité en plus des contraintes de performance, de consommation de puissance et de surface lors de l'étape d'exploration de l'espace de conception (DSE) des architectures matérielles afin de générer automatiquement une architecture optimisée vis-à-vis de toutes ces contraintes. Cette étude débutera par une analyse des modèles de menaces notamment vis-à-vis des attaques matérielles et des contre-mesures existantes au niveau matériel. Un travail sur les méthodes permettant de modéliser et quantifier la sécurité dans le cadre d'une étape de DSE devra également être mené dans la mesure où il sera indispensable de bien caractériser les techniques et approches permettant de prendre en compte les besoins de sécurisation des systèmes. De cette étape, le candidat proposera un flot de DSE d'architectures matérielles prenant en compte les contraintes de sécurité, en plus des contraintes de consommation de puissance, de performance et de surface. Il s'agira de pouvoir analyser les compromis sécurité, surface, consommation et performance en fonction des spécifications des concepteurs à la fois au niveau fonctionnel et non fonctionnel. Ce flot sera ensuite appliqué à un cas concret de conception d'architecture matérielle afin de valider l'approche DSE développée. Les solutions développées devront, vis-à-vis de la contrainte sécurité, démontrer leur niveau de robustesse afin de garantir la sécurité des systèmes tout en respectant et optimisant les autres contraintes de conception.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

Preuve d'équivalence fonctionnelle de codes binaires dans le cadre de la sécurisation de programmes

Département Systèmes et Circuits Intégrés Numériques

Laboratoire Fonctions Innovantes pour circuits Mixtes

Master 2 informatique

01-10-2021

SL-DRT-21-0192

damien.courousse@cea.fr

Cybersécurité : hardware et software (.pdf)

La thèse se place dans le contexte de la cyber-sécurité des systèmes embarqués et des objets connectés, plus particulièrement de leur sécurisation contre les attaques physiques (attaques par canal auxiliaire et attaques par injection de fautes). Le CEA List développe une chaîne de compilation basée sur LLVM, COGITO, pour l'application automatisée de contre-mesures contre les attaques physiques. Deux éléments sont cruciaux pour renforcer la confiance dans la robustesse des contre-mesures appliqués dans les programmes binaires compilés : 1. la preuve de robustesse des contre-mesures mises en ?uvre, 2. la preuve que l'ajout de contre-mesures au programme cible n'en modifie pas la fonctionnalité. Cette thèse ciblera le deuxième point : pouvoir apporter des garanties formelles sur la conformité fonctionnelle d'un programme sécurisé. Notre approche visera à prouver l'équivalence fonctionnelle du programme sécurisé à un autre programme de référence. Nous utiliserons BINSEC (), une plate-forme open-source d'analyse de code binaire développée au CEA List s'appuyant sur l'état de l'art en matière d'analyse de code binaire et de méthodes formelles. La thèse se déroulera sur le centre de Grenoble du CEA, dans un environnement pluridisciplinaire : cyber-sécurité, conception logicielle et matérielle de circuits, intelligence artificielle, etc. Plusieurs séjours courts seront prévus pour assurer une étroite collaboration avec l'équipe de recherche qui travaille sur BINSEC, basée sur le centre de Saclay du CEA.

Télécharger l'offre (.zip)

132 (Page 1 sur 22)
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5  next   last
-->

Voir toutes nos offres